Let’s Be Lowly and French

Or my other way of saying I cooked a French dish.

Mood Setter: Aicha by Cheb Khaled [audio http://a.tumblr.com/tumblr_lf30i9CJ971qe8yuoo1.mp3]

Miraculously, most of the things has been taken care of and that my dear means I finally have some time for me; yay to that and more yays because I can seriously catch up and maintain stuffs that keeps me sane now. I have to admit though that by the first sign of free time, the very first thing that I did was went grocery shopping. Yes, retail is a therapy whether it is skin care product shopping or fresh produce; it’s always fun to spend money and even more fun if you are all by your lonesome. I think I spent a whole thirty minutes eyeing the Asian spices before heading to the toiletries section and that is another story. Can I get away with an excuse that I wanted to feel somewhat cold and cozy inside because it’s starting to be really hot as in HOT outside, can I? I guess that’s a no, oh well. ^^

To mark the so called found free time again, I decided to cook Ratatouille, a French peasant dish, as what Collete from the movie Ratatouille said, because I wanted so much to have a bite of my friend’s birthday feast but alas, I am too far away to attend – thus the conclusion to DIY but I have to admit his looks yummier cause it’s baked and mine is a stove top version because I am oven-less, such a poor girl; just kidding, it’s not so bad not having an oven or is it? Why do the voice in my head sounds so uncannily like mother Gothel from Tangled? Hmmm, that’s a bit disturbing.

Moving on, as I mentioned it’s a stove top version that I found somewhere over the internet thanks to Google of course, I did a few tweaking though and thankfully, it tasted good enough. What was in it? These guys, Monsieurs Garlic et Basil:

They were joined by Mademoiselles Onion et Red Pepper:

And I guess he’s the star of the show cause most of the other veggies asked for a cup or a cup and a half and this guy has to be 2, that’s a bit I dunno, the word is stuck at the tip of my tongue, let’s go with unfair cause you know, isn’t it good to have equal portions or something?

Yup, that’s Mr. Macho, eggplant and I just realized something, I didn’t really “quite” follow every single thing on the recipe. Harhar, keeping the ranting down; next on the list are these babies, by these babies I am referring to the squash, zucchini and tomato:

 

Right so I have this question, what’s the difference between a marrow and a zucchini? Cause that is a marrow and the recipe calls for a zucchini though the supermarket guy says they are the same? Are they somewhat related? I’ll ask Google later.

Lastly, to liven up the party these dudes are much needed – pepper and thyme; not visually present is 3 – 4 pinches of salt, ¼ cup of olive oil and a dash of secret ingredient that is to remain unknown. 🙂 Completely forgotten was parsley, thankfully everything turned out okay.

Curious how did it turned out? Here’s a before and after:

 

Colorful isn’t it? I personally think that cooking is like painting, not on a canvass but on a plate and both are purtey. Well, I’ll be digging in now and most probably by the time this is posted, I would have been completely bonkers about some Korean Drama or something, I’m quite positive with that.

Share Your Thoughts With Erl: