On Repeat: It’s Alright, It’s Love (괜찮아 사랑이야) – DAVICHI

So.. Yeah, I think this is going to be sort of a regular thingy, On Repeat; because I do tend to play songs on repeat for days it’s ridiculous and fun. Yes fun, because I love fun things. As of the moment, the song I have on repeat is It’s Alright, It’s Love by Davichi off the OST of the drama that I am currently obsessed with: It’s Okay, That’s Love.

It doesn’t fall in any of my usual selection which is upbeat, cheerful R&B-ish, alternative rock-ish meet somewhat heavy metal but it completely charmed me to listen to it over and over again. I’ve got one word why, LONGING. The song expresses a strong feeling of longing, from the melody to the voice of the singer, down to the accompaniment; it has LONGING written all over it and it’s hurting me in a very good way. The lyrics are not helping either because it’s simply beautiful that I can’t help but look into it deeply:

Do you see my heart? Why is it love?
I was never gonna fall in love again
But I’m such a fool

Generally that’s the question, how, why and what. Those questions usually comes from a person trying to look at LOVE in a logical way, someone who has crashed and burned before because of love but, unavoidably; jumps at the same boat again even though thinking somehow badly of themselves.

Why am I happy? I think of your face
Only stay by my side, forever you

Love as we experienced, yes we, and I won’t bother to expound why it’s “we”; makes us go all cuckoo and lose our mojos. It’s possible that it helps boost endorphins level too because it makes people happy and gay. And being in a state where one is happy and gay, it’s only natural to build a “wall” around what causes happiness. By that I mean securing that it would be a constant thing, something like the only F word that I strongly consider as wishful thinking: FOREVER.

You came to me with the wind like the swaying flowers
You knocked on my heart, I love you

Falling in love is magical, it could happen abruptly sometimes but that is a magical abruptly, like being touched by an angel. Thus finding that right person or for the right person to find you, it’s similar to completing a puzzle, the better picture is revealed.

My heart hurts when I see you
It’s alright, it’s love
My flawed heart and my love
Will you accept it? Me?

No matter how much happiness love brings, it also brings pain but then it’s alright because it’s all part of it; all part of love as a whole. There’s insecurity too, the feeling that you won’t add up. But, it’s not such a big deal especially if both parties are open to the fact that “perfection” is merely a preference rather than a reality.

Love me
I love you

Again, the expectation to have one person’s feeling to be reciprocated is a given, lex talionis. Though with LOVE, it doesn’t really work that way thus the longing builds up, the pain intensified. Despite it all, the possibility for us to embrace the idea and the premise of being in love again will not seize because it is LOVE. I’m gonna borrow one of my favorite quotes from “The Witch of Portobello” by one of my beloved authors in this whole Milky Way who is Paulo Coelho:

“Love is.”

Yes, love is. We can spend our whole life to try and give it a meaning but it is just is, LOVE is.

Needless to say I am filled with longing these days because of this song but it’s alright, it’s worth it.

Lyrics Source | popgasa |

Share Your Thoughts With Erl:

