Getting into the Groove with MBLAQ

Or my completely dimwitted way of saying “a written reaction to Be a Man’s MV”

Right, so I never thought this day would come that I’d be writing something like this; who would have thought. But I guess it’s something inevitable, something that was on the way or maybe has already arrived but I refuse to acknowledge, or maybe more than that. Anyway, it’s too late to turn back, and since I’m already here anyways, by that I mean I am already into K-ent, why not go all the way. Thus, I am embracing it fully and taking the plunge.

A few weeks ago.. Wait, let me check my calendar to be sure.. *checking calendar* Yup, a few weeks ago, out of curiosity and because I’ve been receiving tweets from @soompi and reading post all over fb and some blogs that I follow, I watched the MV of Be a Man by MBLAQ. Admittedly, it’s not really my first time to watch a Kpop MV; I’ve watched a few – EXO’s, Wonder Girls’, Taeyang’s and some other, the occasion though, is rare. I don’t count watching FT Island’s MVs as watching Kpop because for me, FT Island is more K-alternative rock-ish band. I do count them as a boy band though because they are all boys and in a band.

Well, enough of my fixation with FT Island for now, as I said, I watched the MV of MBLAQ’s Be a Man and surprise, surprise, hot stuff:

From my visual perspective, it’s no doubt a feast for the eyes: awesome choreography, editing and phasing; not to mention hot boys in suits, just the right ingredients for a hearty, scrumptious feast for the eyes. As for the musicality, they have done an exemplary job of putting together an awesome mix of R & B and Soul with a twist of modern jazzy pop that makes me wanna bust my dancing shoes off its hiding place. And no I am not claiming to be a dancer, but I do like to dance especially if the occasion calls for it.

And most importantly, the lyrics; yes, I am very critical when it comes with the lyrics, must be the frustrated poet in me or something; anyways, the lyrics, it’s heartfelt and sad. You would think that because it is an upbeat-ish song it has a lovey dovey lyrics or something, wrong! It’s expressed with the way MBLAQ sung each single line of the lyrics – yearning and indecision. I particularly love the rap part, the way it sounded so sarcastic yet heartbreaking, that’s somehow a feat to express, I’m completely impressed.

To sum it all up, the picture this MV painted in my head is that of a guy, dancing and expressing his heart out trying to reach out to his lover who dumped him; somehow insisting that she is his air. Inspiring and overwhelming at the same time. Wicked! It’s such a good idea that I checked this MV, well probably not so good since I just took another step towards the point of no return but who cares. I’m going to explore some more and this is definitely not the last time I’ll be watching an MLAQ MV, that I am sure.

Share Your Thoughts With Erl:

