[That Tune on a Monday] Don’t Cry

Since I am currently into I Need Romance 3, it’s quite natural that I lean to its OST too, and surprisingly, I like it so far.  Don’t Cry, one of the songs off the OST is a very heartfelt song and when it was played during that scene at the crossroad, I feel it’s appropriate, at least to my opinion. So why do I find it appealing? Is it because of the title or the lyrics that I of course read the English translation or the melody? Well, first it’s the title, then the melody, lastly the lyrics.

If it’s not yet obvious, I would like to state that I was stubborn when I was younger, by that I mean from my teenage years until my early 20s and honestly, I think that’s normal at that age. You learn as you grow old, not unless you’re too proud to think that you’re not making any mistake of course, but if you are honest with yourself and you contemplate about what you’ve done, then it’s different, everything is a completely new picture. During those time, I get scolded by my mother three times or maybe more a day and you know how when people are angry they say words that they don’t really mean, (at least now I see it that way, it was a whole lot different during that time) you know those hurtful words that stings more than a slap does. The words that get me by during that time are “don’t cry.” I repeat it about 20 times a day because I don’t want to show how hurt I am. I did the same the first time I left the country, as I make my way to the check in area I repeat in my head: don’t cry, don’t let your mother see you cry. Don’t cry; don’t let your brother feel how sad you are. I try so hard to be cool. Now, I still resent crying but not for the same reason as before but because I end up having a migraine attack the next day if I cry. So, basically, no tear shedding as much as possible, that’s the word, as much as possible.

Next the melody, the tugging to the heart melody with sultry bittersweet vocals; it gives off the right feelings all thanks to it being played using a piano. Apart from the violin, the piano I think gives off that melancholic mood that can be felt especially if it’s a very slow tempo. The base helps too; it gives that slow rocky sort of alternative makeover to the plain tingling tune of the piano. When I closed my eyes while listening to the song, the picture I see in my head is one worth writing a poem about and breaking down while reading it, which I think I am going to post by Wednesday.

Lastly the lyrics, the translation I took from popgasa.com:

Don’t Cry

Lee Hyeri

There’s still so many things to remember
so I can’t escape even now
you keep digging deeper into me

Today is the same as yesterday
nothing will change tomorrow
so I cowardly shut the door

Don’t cry, in this darkness
don’t cry, protect yourself
don’t cry, don’t cry

Don’t cry, until always
don’t cry, feel me
don’t cry, I won’t let go

Love is in the memories
it’s in the floating smoke
it’s in the pouring fatigue

Sadness is in my heart
it’s in the fallen flower petals
it’s in the wheels of time

Don’t cry, in this darkness
don’t cry, protect yourself
don’t cry, don’t cry

Don’t cry, until always
don’t cry, feel me
don’t cry, I won’t let go

Living on
Disappearing
Living on
Disappearing

Don’t cry, in this darkness
don’t cry, protect yourself
don’t cry, don’t cry

Don’t cry, until always
don’t cry, feel me
don’t cry, I won’t let go

Don’t cry
don’t cry
don’t cry, don’t cry

The flower petals silently fly away
Time wordlessly ticks on
at some point, it all turns back around.

Right, so don’t cry. Love can affect a person two ways, it’s either love breaks you or make you. And as I see it, in the case of this song, love broke the person and that person refuse to step out of that walls that person built as a protection. There’s that recoil, which I get and I understand. Most people tend to stop eating for a bit if their tongue gets burned, I believe it is the same concept.

That’s the song I am listening to, melancholic, melodic and somehow nostalgic.

Share Your Thoughts With Erl:

