[Day 26] On My Shelf (List your favorite books.)

This post has a potential to take forever that is if I am to list all of my favorite books. That’s right; a challenge so close to my heart, books. Since I learned how to read, I never was without any book. As I grow older, the number of books I have in possession increased rapidly and more so because my brothers add to it too. Thus to save time (another word for saying because I’m lazy) I would just list five (5) out of the bunch.

The books that I am putting on this list (the challenge is to list my favorite books) are those books that I still read from time to time, no matter how many times I’ve read them. And one of them especially I quote whenever I want to cheer myself up. Here’s the list of my favorite books in no particular order:

~ The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery – This book is one of those that gets me misty eyed all the time, no matter how many times I’ve read it. The whole book is worth quoting, every single dialog has something to it. Whenever I feel like I am misunderstood or that I am being judged just by the way I look, I find myself thinking of the lines from this book, repeating it all over, a mantra: what is essential is invisible to the eye.

~ Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom – This is another sad book that I relate to. How can one forget their teachers especially those that saw them more than a struggling student but as a person with potential, not possible.

~ Harry Potter Series by J. K. Rowling – As per my opinion, these books are beautifully written. J. K. Rowling had me dreaming to be lost in a magical far away place with every installment. The only thing that I couldn’t get over with is the fact that Sirius had to die, why, oh why?

~ Mythology by Edith Hamilton – Thanks to this book I was obsessed with Greek mythology my whole High School years. It was a revelation for me, an alternative of what I know with everything personified.

~ Othello by William Shakespeare – It’s too predictable that I would list one of William Shakespeare’s tragedy right, but I bet you didn’t expect this. This tragedy is the perfect tragedy for me; it has the perfect fuel for a tragedy, one that stands out to me is jealousy. How sick can Othello get really? This is the quote that haunts me forever: I kiss’d thee ere I kill’d thee: no way but this; killing myself to die upon a kiss.

These are some of my favorite books. What are your favorite books?

Share Your Thoughts With Erl:

